Traditional smocked dress – finished!

I finally managed to finish it! A couple of week ago I put up a post about the traditional smocked dress I was making for my little granddaughter, and it certainly took some effort, but I am so pleased with the result. Last week my son and his family came to stay for the week, so I was able to put the finishing touches to the dress and try it for size. My granddaughter loved the dress – she was fascinated with watching me use the sewing machine, and when I was doing some hand sewing she wanted to play with the buttons, and told me she was ‘making a dress for mummy’.

She loved the dress – so much so that she wasn’t very happy about taking it off after I had taken these photos. But she had a long car journey back home again, and the dress wasn’t really ideal for travelling, so we managed to persuade her in the end.

So here it is, modelled especially for you….

ImageImage

You can see some step by step photos here.

I think I will have to find another smocking project now, because I enjoyed this so much. And I’ve also got quite a lot of fabric left over – maybe a patchwork project as well? Isn’t that the way crafting goes? You finish one project and immediately you think of two more! 🙂

10 comments on “Traditional smocked dress – finished!

  1. Pingback: I Made Things! A Dress Project. | Thrifty Finn

  2. YIPEEEE! How beautiful!! Thank you so much for entering your gorgeous dress (and even more gorgeous granddaughter) into the Made It challenge, so very happy to have you onboard xxx

  3. Your granddaughter looks like my daughter when she was the same age. The hair colour, the curls and of course, the very pretty dress. Good luck in the challenge 🙂 It’s beautiful!

  4. Pingback: June Made It – get your VOTING fingers ready | woolhogs

Leave a Reply

