Handmade cards (mostly stitched)

Cross stitched card 01

Over the years I’ve given my friend and family a lots of hand-made gifts, and especially cards. I’ve given a lot of cross-stitched cards. Some of them were ‘freebies’ from cross stitch magazines that I used to get – I can’t afford them now as they are so expensive, but I always enjoyed making them.  My mum has kept everything I have ever given her, and since I haven’t got anything new to show you just now, I thought I would show you some of my old cards instead. Some of them are over fifteen years old, which you can probably tell if you look closely! The card above was a lovely little project, and I loved the free printed card that came with it.

 

IMG_5947 copy

This cross stitched card of autumn leaves was given to my dad for his birthday.

Cross stitched card 03

This jolly seaside card reminded me of the summer holidays by the sae when I was a child.

Cross stitched card 04

This card was stitched on evenweave – almost the first time I had ever worked on evenweave.

Cross stitched card 05

Another birthday card for my dad.

Needlepoint card

This lovely card used some different needlepoint stitches

Hardanger card

My very first attempt at hardanger, and I am still hooked!

Beadwork card

A beadwork card – I am still hooked on beadwork too.

IMG_5945 copy

This Christmas card was made with folded fabric – rather like a tulip pattern.

Stamped mandala Christmas card

Stamped mandala Christmas card 02

I made over 70 of these mandala Christmas cards! I had to stamp three images for each card, then colour them, and cut sections of the design out rather like decoupage. I used sticky pads to lift the layers up, and added a little jewel in the centre. I started in October, and I loved doing them, but it did take a long time!

I’m sure there are a few more of my cards and gifts around, so I’ll see how many other I can find to show you. It would be great to see cards or gifts you’ve made.

6 comments on “Handmade cards (mostly stitched)

    • Thank you. They do like getting them, and I enjoy making them, so it works out well! I haven’t made any for a while though, so I might do some more soon. I don’t do needlepoint very often, but I enjoyed making that little card.

  1. lovely cards – and I’m the same. I love making cards for that special occasion and there’s nothing better than receiving a hand-made card

    • Thank you. It’s true – they are quick to do, which is probably why I like them so much. I do stitch larger projects, but I always like to have something small on the go as well.

Leave a Reply

