Tatting with two shuttles: My first tatted earrings!

The last couple of weeks have been very busy, as I’ve been travelling to various places visiting family, so I haven’t had much time for crafting or blogging. I spent a few days in London, looking after my lovely grandchildren and seeing my grown-up children. We went to the Anniversary Games at the Olympic Stadium, and cheered our athletes on – I can’t believe it’s a year since I was working as a Gamesmaker and going to the Olympic Park every day. I am now in Hertfordshire visiting my brother and his wife. Again we’ve been whizzing about. We went to a Victorian Schools Museum, found some geocaches, and today went to Cambridge for the day. We’ve also been putting our moth trap out – it consists of a bright light bulb which attracts the moths into a large tub, where they hide in the egg boxes we put in the bottom. If you want to see some photos, you can see them on my Pinterest board here.

But I have managed to find a little time for crafting, and I’ve practised tatting with two shuttles, which I found tricky at first, but I have managed to make these earrings – my very first! I am really pleased to have mastered this, although I know there’s still a lot of other techniques I need to learn. I am planning to try adding beads next – I’m really looking forward to trying this out.  I still haven’t been brave enough to try out my new threads yet, as I’m still finding I make mistakes and sometimes have to cut the threads and start again, and I don’t want to waste my beautiful colours. But now I’ve managed to complete these earrings I might just be bold enough to have a try.

I hope you are enjoying your crafting!

8 comments on “Tatting with two shuttles: My first tatted earrings!

  1. Your earrings are beautiful! Good work there! I do needle tatting and have made enough butterflies. I even cut a piece of magnet and glued it on the backs for the fridge. I gave my sister a set and she loved them. Little by little is the speed I guess. I crocheted for over 30 yrs. and wore out the cushion in my thumb. So I am learning to tat with needles which I bought 20 yrs. ago. Why? Beats me but now I need them. You are doing great and I’ll post some of my work soon. Best Wishes,Lynette

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement, It’s certainly a case of ‘slow and steady’ but although I get a bit frustrated at times, I am getting on a bit better now. I’m really sorry to hear about your thumb – does that mean you can’t crochet at all? How horrible! I would love to see some of your work.

  2. Pingback: Snow in The Gambia? | Stitches 'N' Dreams

Leave a Reply

