Tatted birds

Tiny tatting: Aren’t these lovely?

I’ve been really busy over the last couple of weeks, with various visitors and lots of other things to do too. I haven’t had much time for blogging, but I have been trying hard to keep up with my tatting endeavours, with mixed success. I have tried several patterns, and I’m getting on quite well, but I haven’t yet got anything finished to show you. But, like most crafters, I hate wasting anything, and I was wondering what to do with the small amounts of thread left over on my shuttles when I’ve finished a doily or some other project. Then I discovered these delightful little birds! Aren’t they lovely? They only need a tiny amount of thread, and they are so quick to make. They would be great to use as little bookmarks.

These are just little experiments – I didn’t even have any nice coloured paperclips to mount them on, but now I’ve learnt how to make them, I think I might invest in some brightly coloured paperclips to show the birds off properly. And I think I will be experimenting a bit to see if I can adapt the designs a little to make some different creatures – there are lots of examples on the internet with some great ideas. Take a look at my new Pinterest board ‘Tatting onto a paperclip‘ to see some pretty little designs. I found the pattern for these little birds on the Palmetto Tatters website – the link to the pattern is here.

My cross-stitching has slowed down recently, as I will be heading back to the Gambia quite soon, so I’ve already packed up some of my craft stuff to take with me, including most of my embroidery threads (so far I haven’t found anywhere in the Gambia where I can buy them). If you are interested in reading about my adventures in the Gambia, my travel blog Life in The Gambia has got lots of posts about my previous visits, and I will be keeping it updated when I go back again.

Balaba Nature Camp: Gambia

Here is a photo of my Gambian home, just to give you a taste!

But of course, I will also be keeping this blog updated too, as I will have even more time to enjoy my crafting.

2 comments on “Tiny tatting: Aren’t these lovely?

Leave a Reply

