Christmas biscornu

Having arrived back in The Gambia this week, I’m beginning to get my breath back and turn my attention to crafty things again. I’m still beavering away at the tatting, but of course, I’m beginning to think about Christmas as well! For a Brit, the idea of Christmas when the temperature is in the 30s is a bit strange, and although Christmas is celebrated here, it’s not a huge festival. And there is nothing like the commercial frenzy that you get in the UK, and I daresay in other countries too. Last year I came back to Gambia in early December, and it was a huge relief to get away from the craziness (although I did make, wrap and deliver presents before I left).

However, last year I decided to open my Etsy shop, and at the moment I am focusing on selling cross-stitch patterns, which can be downloaded. Naturally, trying to post physical items would be impossible from The Gambia. I designed some little Christmas biscornu last year, and I’ve just reactivated the listings ready for this year. I love the quirkiness of biscornu, which are surprisingly simple to make, and don’t take too long either. They are perfect for little gifts, but they could be made into tree ornaments very simply by adding a length of ribbon.

I am planning to design and stitch some new patterns this year, but meanwhile, if you are a cross-stitcher, you are welcome to take a look.  Just click on the photos to go to the listing. They are ideal patterns for a beginner too.

Snowman biscornu

Snowman biscornu

Christmas pudding biscornu

No doubt many of you are also getting ready for Christmas. Sadly I haven’t had time to catch up with the blogs I follow yet, but I am planning a good catch-up session over the next few days.

Happy crafting!

4 comments on “Christmas biscornu

Leave a Reply

