Happy New Year!

Firstly I want to wish all my readers a very Happy New Year. Whatever your wishes and dreams, I hope this year brings you everything you hope for and more.

New Year – new look. I thought it was about time I changed the look of the blog, and for the time being I have opted for this look. I will probably be tinkering with it over the next few days, to get things the way I want them, so don’t be surprised if things change again One change you may notice is that only the start of the post appears on the page – this is so people don’t have to spend hours scrolling down the page to find previous posts.

I have enjoyed looking at lots of other blogs and seeing how people have summed up their year, often with a retrospective of their ‘makes’ for the year. However, I have got a ‘Completed in 2013‘ page, so I didn’t want to repeat myself too much! But as 2013 was the year I learnt to tat, I have added a new page to chart my tatting journey from the first tatted ring to my first tatting design. You can find it on the links at the top of the page, or you can click here.

I have been carrying on with my tatting here in The Gambia, although I am missing my cross stitch a bit now, so I am planning to vary things a bit more once I have finished my current ‘make’.

I have been trying my hand at tatted jewellery, so I have made some motifs and matching earrings, and even managed to add some beads.

Tatted pendant and earrings

Tatted pendant and earrings

Tatted earrings

Tatted earrings

 

Tatted motif

Tatted motif

I have also had a go at designing my own motifs. I am quite pleased with this pendant and earrings, although it needs to be starched and blocked to improve its appearance.

My own pendant and earring design

My own pendant and earring design

I tried my hand at a larger design – a lovely doily that I found on ‘Tatting Treasures‘.

A lovely tatted doily

A lovely tatted doily

Not quite sure what to do with this little motif – I think I need to play with it a bit more first!

Tatted motif

Tatted motif

And my current ‘make’ is a chair back requested by a friend. I have used a lovely design I found on Tat a Renda, and I am enjoying the challenge of a larger piece of tatting. I will keep you updated on my progress!

Tatted chair back in progress

Tatted chair back in progress

Of course, now is the season of New Year resolutions, and I have seen quite a few posted on different crafting blogs. I have a few things I would like to achieve this year:

  • To create my own tatting designs, especially for tatted jewellery
  • To continue to develop my tatting skills
  • To create a new series of biscornu designs (I will tell you more about that later, but I have lots of ideas)
  • To sell some of my designs and finished work in my Etsy shop.
  • To make more time to enjoy crafting – it feels like such a luxury I sometimes feel guilty if I am sitting and crafting!

I would love to know about your crafting resolutions if you have any.

Best wishes for 2014.

7 comments on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

