No tatting but a little taste of something else instead!

Over the weekend, I had hoped I would be able to get my tatted chair back finished to show you, but it didn’t happen for a number of reasons. Firstly, I developed a streaming cold, and I discovered that trying to untangle my hands from my tatting to blow my nose every two minutes was just too frustrating! Then, I inflicted an injury on myself. Here at Balaba we have an old sewing machine – as there’s no mains electricity we couldn’t use an electric one, but instead we have a wonderful old treadle machine, which someone kindly donated to us a few years ago.

Our treadle sewing machine

Our treadle sewing machine

Now although I am quite familiar with my electric machine, I have never tried using a treadle machine before, and I have to say it requires quite a lot of concentration to combine working the treadle with manipulating the sewing. I wasn’t even doing anything very creative! I was only trying to make casing to add new elastic to a pair of shorts, but I was chatting to someone, and looked away for a moment, and before I knew it, the needle had gone through my finger. Ouch! It’s been quite sore, and I’ve had to keep it covered as it’s so dusty here, which made it difficult to hold my tatting shuttle (and is making it tricky to type as well!).

So instead, I thought I would share some photos of a lovely afternoon we had yesterday, and the tatting will have to wait for another time! In The Gambia, children often live with their grandparents when they are small, and my stepson used to live with his grandmother, together with two of his cousins. He now lives with us, but his cousins are still looked after by their grandmother, so to give her a break we have them here during the school holidays. They love to be together, and it’s great to see them playing with the local children and having fun.

But all good things must come to an end, and yesterday they had to go back to their grandmother as school was due to start the following day. So we decided to give them a treat and have a picnic on the beach before returning. The beach is only a few minutes away, but they were very excited about the idea of a picnic – it’s not done much here. Somehow we ended up with three other children as well, but we had a great afternoon enjoying the tropical beach which is always almost deserted, and having a picnic of juice together with local bread filled with delicious chocolate spread. Again, this is a real treat here, as snacks are not really part of the culture, because money is always tight.

The path to the beach - it's a bit steep!

The path to the beach – it’s a bit steep!

The children enjoying a splash around in the sea.

The children enjoying a splash around in the sea.

Some cows taking a wander down the beach

Some cows taking a wander down the beach

A perfect tropical scene

A perfect tropical scene

The children enjoying their juice and bread with chocolate spread

The children enjoying their juice and bread with chocolate spread

So although I didn’t manage to finish my tatting, we all have some lovely memories of a wonderful picnic on the beach.

4 comments on “No tatting but a little taste of something else instead!

  1. I’m not jealous, I’m not jealous… No no nooooo!

    How lovely for them, it looks like everybody thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

    Its a good thing you didn’t have to contend with 30ft waves, its not been too great here in cold, wet & windy England.

    Xx

Leave a Reply

