With a little bit of this and a little bit of that…

This I’ve tried to make a little time every afternoon for stitching, as I tend to try and get work each morning on the ‘day’ job. One of the loveliest things about being in The Gambia is the beautiful weather, with temperatures around 30 degrees and a cooling sea breeze, so sitting under the trees with my stitching, whilst visitors drop in for a chat and my husband brews ‘ataya’ (green mint tea) is sheer pleasure.

The only thing that interrupts me is the birds! We have very beautiful birds here, and one of my other passions is birdwatching, so I always sit with my binoculars and camera next to me, just in case. And of course, an interesting bird always comes along when my hands are most tangled! At the moment I’m taking an online photography course to try and improve my skills, so here’s a couple of photos to show you how beautiful the birds are. If you want to see more of my bird photos, do take a look at my Pinterest board.

A Red-billed hornbill

A Red-billed hornbill

 

A Beautiful sunbird (yes, that is really its name!)

A Beautiful sunbird (yes, that is really its name!)

Meanwhile, the little Tooth Fairy Pillow is coming along nicely. I have nearly finished the cross-stitching for the front, and I’m very pleased with how it’s going. It has been interesting trying to explain to visitors what the pillow is for though! Getting money in exchange for your old teeth is a completely alien concept here, but they always smile politely and tell me it looks nice anyway.

The front is nearly finished!

The front is nearly finished!

And just so you know that I have kept my promise, here is a sneak preview of my biscornu. It’s not quite ready to be shared in all its glory yet, but it won’t be long.

A sneak preview!

A sneak preview!

And now I’m starting to think about my contribution for the Happy Spring Blog Hop, organised by Angela over at Pretty Little Things in a Box. If you want to take part, or you want to know more, click on the button at the side of this post. It would be great to have as many as possible involved.

Happy stitching!

 

 

6 comments on “With a little bit of this and a little bit of that…

  1. those are the most loveliest birds which I’ve ever seen.. I love bird watching too.. and the sunbird’s colour is just so stunning.. 😀 what great shots you have. 😀

Leave a Reply

