Life got in the way

It’s a very long time since I posted anything on my blog here. When I came back from The Gambia in May, I had loads of plans for craft projects, and for keeping my blog updated. But life doesn’t always go to plan, does it? Without going into too much detail, things have been a bit complicated since my return. My mum had a nasty diagnosis, and we have spent a lot of time at the hospital for two rounds of surgery and follow-up treatment. My house that I rent out needed lots of renovating and decorating, which kept me very busy for several months. And on a much nicer note, we’ve had lots of friends and family visiting over the summer, which has been lovely. But all this has meant I haven’t had much time for crafting, and even less time for blogging about it!

However, I have managed to squeeze a few creative moments in, so I will share them with you as best I can, even though I don’t have many photos to show you just yet. You may remember last year I made my granddaughter a traditional smocked dress. Well, this year I rashly agreed to make her another (only kidding – I love dressmaking really). This time she was old enough to make her own choice of pattern, and after collecting a few on Pinterest, she finally decided on a pretty little sundress, which I really enjoyed making for her birthday in May.

IMG_1499

I didn’t want my grandson to feel left out, but somehow it seems more difficult to think of things to make for a boy (if you have any suggestions, I would be very grateful!). My son suggested I could make him a waistcoat, as he only had one, and he loved to wear it. So I took a newspaper pattern from the one he had, allowed a little extra for growth, and set to work. I thought I knew how to make a waistcoat with a lining, but I got in a terrible muddle, and even had to unpick quite a lot – it’s not quite as easy as it seems! But thanks to some internet tutorials, I managed to get it made, and my grandson is delighted with it.

IMG_1494

I also made another dress for my granddaughter, which I will share with you in another post, but apart from that and a little tatting, I got very little else done this summer.

However, my mum is recovering well now, so I was able to return to The Gambia last week. Here I have a bit more time for leisure, so hopefully I can get back into my crafting again.

So, apologies for the very long break, and also for not keeping up with all your lovely craft blogs, but I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things again now.

10 comments on “Life got in the way

    • Thank you! It was certainly lovely to catch up with the family again, and I definitely agree that making memories is always good – we have got some great ones from this summer! Glad you like the outfits. 🙂

  1. We’ve missed you.. 😉 glad to hear you are alright where ever you are..
    both items are professionally made..i love the waistcoat more.. the fabric is just so cute.. welcome back and hope to see you around soon.. 😉 hope things are well and settled for you now.. 😉

    • Thank you! It is nice to be back. I’m glad you liked the clothes – the grandchildren certainly loved them. I’m back in Gambia now and things have settled down, so I’m looking forward to getting back in the groove again! Hope everything is well with you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

