The Peppermint Swirl Dress

As I explained in my last post, this summer didn’t quite go according to plan, and I didn’t have very much time for crafting or blogging. However, it’s fast becoming a tradition that I make a dress for my granddaughter, and so I duly made her a little sundress, using the pattern she chose from my Pinterest board. But both her dad and I had fallen in love with another pattern as well, which was absolutely beautiful and quite unusual, and I simply couldn’t resist the opportunity to make that one too.

The pattern is called ‘The Peppermint Swirl‘ and it’s available on Craftsy. I think it looks stunning, so when my son and family arrived to stay for the May half term week, they decided to choose some fabric so I could make the dress up for my granddaughter. The pattern was duly bought, and because it’s an instant download, we didn’t have to wait for it to be delivered.

As it happened, they arrived home from the fabric shop, and rather sheepishly admitted they had bought TWO lots of fabric, so I could make her one dress for the summer and another one for her Christmas dress!!

The pattern was a multi-sized one, and we needed to print it off and then stick the individual A4 sheets together before cutting out the pieces. This took the combined efforts of my son and me, with a little help from my daughter on occasions, but eventually we succeeded and I was ready to start cutting out the dress pieces. As well as all the bodice sections, I also needed 14 ‘swirls’ each of which was made up of two pieces. It took a very long time, but eventually I had everything I needed to get started.

It’s the first time I have used a downloaded printable pattern, and I have to say both the pattern and instructions were very clear and easy to follow. I’m not sure I would recommend this dress for a beginner, because it is a bit complicated, but experienced dressmakers would really enjoy the challenge. I did find the rolled hem a bit tricky – again, this was new to me, and despite looking at some tutorials on the internet I did struggle with this, perhaps because the hem was scalloped.

But, needless to say, we were delighted with the result, including my granddaughter. It definitely has the ‘twirl’ factor, (essential for any dress, you understand), and she agreed to model it for me, although she was a bit self-conscious – please note the ‘Frozen’-themed hairstyle, which she informed me was very important!

Peppermint swirl dress

I have since made the Christmas dress, which is in gorgeous bottle green and apricot. This version nearly killed me, as it was satin fabric, and not only did every raw edge need to be overlocked, but the fabric was incredibly slippery – trying to do the rolled hem took AGES!

IMG_1596

It’s perhaps hard to tell from the photo, but it does look very beautiful, and maybe I can post a proper photo when my granddaughter wears it at Christmas.

So, if you are looking for a lovely dress for a girl, I think this dress is a wonderful choice.

8 comments on “The Peppermint Swirl Dress

Leave a Reply

