An apology and an explanation

If you don’t know me personally, you’re probably wondering why it’s been such a long time since I updated my blog. That’s because in March last year I slipped, managing to fracture and dislocate my wrist. I was in Gambia at the time, which is where I normally spend the winter, but eventually I need to come back to the UK to have surgery to re-set the wrist and insert a metal plate. (If you want to read about all that in a bit more detail, take a look at my post on my Life in The Gambia blog).

My wrist was in plaster for 8 weeks, and I then needed many weeks of hospital therapy to get it mobilised again. When it first came out of the cast it was virtually locked. Because my arm was out of action for so long, I then developed a very painful frozen shoulder (more therapy), together with some long-running health issues which made life very complicated. In all, I couldn’t do any craft for over four months, and I was only able to type with one hand (not easy when my job is freelance writing!).

To be honest, I lost my mojo a bit, and didn’t even feel up to looking at other craft blogs, so to my blogging friends I can only say sorry for ignoring you for so long.

However, over the last few weeks I’ve managed to begin crafting again, (albeit slowly, as my wrist is still stiff and painful and I’ve got reduced mobility in my hand too), so I’ve finally got a few things ready to share with you again.

And now I’ve (at last!), been discharged from hospital treatment, I’m returning to Gambia in about 10 days.

So I’m looking forward to catching up with everyone again – it feels as though it’s been a  long time.

11 comments on “An apology and an explanation

Leave a Reply

